Interesting

Interests are interesting.

We don’t always share certain common interests with friends and family, and that’s okay.  A dedicated person will sometimes become involved in an interest they have no interest in simply to be dutiful and congenial, and that’s okay.

For me, it’s important not to feign enthusiasm, but it’s equally important not to sap their enthusiasm.  After all, every hobby or fandom has its share of annoyances worth complaining about, but the hobbyist or fan hardly seems to notice.

Let me give you an example.  I love the Oscars.  I watch them every year.  They’re long, often poorly concieved, and nothing important actually happens.  I love them, but I don’t expect you to.  Now, if you choose to watch them with me, great!  But you can’t talk except during commercials.  Actually, just live tweet your thoughts, and catch up with them on my time.  And don’t complain about how long the broadcast is.  I know it’s long!  I love that it’s long!

You see what I mean?  Be a good sport.

Oh, and one more thing. . .  You aren’t allowed to get mad at the person who is trying to be your companion just because they don’t share your blind enthusiasm.  Don’t be resentful because you have to watch football with someone who doesn’t appreciate football.  Or Star Wars.  Or Fifty Shades of Grey.  Or whatever.  Don’t be an ingrate.  They suffered through something they don’t like simply because they love you.

Leave a Reply

