How to Spot a Racist

Okay.  I figure I should write about a couple of really heavy subjects that have been on my mind of late.  If you’re seeking something light, move along.  There’s nothing to see here.

I think it’s funny people keep saying we’re in a “post-racial America.”  Those same people are generally the ones I hear saying things like:
“Our president is the most racially divisive president of all time.”
AND
“Simply disagreeing with the president doesn’t make me a racist.”

As to the first, how is Obama the “most racially divisive” president other than by simply being black?

Is it because he said Treyvon Martin was similar to what his son might have looked like had he had one?  Well, that’s kind of dumb.  First of all, he was answering a question about how he FELT about the shooting.  It was a personal question, and his response was based on pretty basic observation.  I thought the same thing when seeing the picture pop up beside the president.  “That kid looks a lot like Obama.”  Was I making it about race?  Not really.  I was making the observation based on many factors including but not limited to the shade of their skin.   Besides, if this is a problem, then why isn’t it offensive each time a president talks about “our sons and daughters in combat?”  They certainly don’t have kids fighting any war we know of.

As for the second. . .  Well, let’s first clarify that there probably are some people that think you’re a racist.  There are certainly people out there that think all Republicans are rednecks.  Those people are idiots, but no one is giving them any credibility.  Stop worrying about those people.

Ted Cruz recently “filibustered” defunding Obamacare for 21 hours.  (I know that sentence is confusing, but so was the nature of the filibuster since it was his own proposal he was blocking.)  The important part is that NO ONE is calling him a racist.  No one with a shred of credibility.

Now, before we go on, let me say a couple of things.  First of all let me pause for a moment and say this out loud (which means you will need to stop reading it in your head and read it OUT LOUD). I am NOT calling you a racist.  YOU ARE NOT A RACIST!!!

Some of you might very well be, but that’s not the point!

I also want to take a minute to explain my position.  I am a centrist.  I am a bit socially liberal with a dash of pro-life and fiscally conservative with a hint of “you can’t expect the market to behave with morality” mixed in.  I have many friends and family members from both sides of the aisle, and I respect their opinions.  I value them!  I love for them to challenge me with their own views on the issues.

A year ago, I was the guy telling people that they were being too hard on the GOP. That saying Republicans don’t like Obama “just because he’s black” was ignorant. But to use an old, possibly racist expression. . .  Let’s call a spade a spade.

When you look at SOME of the people that latched onto George Zimmerman, you see absolute, bold faced, on-the-nose racism. When you hear people call your president the n word. When they speculate that he is “probably” a Jihadist. When they say things like how he’s “not a real American anyway.” When you have people in Tea Party Rallies tell the white and black people in the crowd not to mix with Mexicans because “you can’t breed a prize stallion with a donkey.” When you actually have to throw someone out of the Republican National Convention for throwing peanuts at an African-American journalist and saying, “That’s how you feed them.” When you have people wearing t-shirts that say both “Romney 2012” and “Put the WHITE back in the WHITE HOUSE.” When you have people saying that Obama was the first black president of the Harvard Law Review because of “Affirmative Action.” And YES, when you have members of the New Black Panther Party intimidating voters in front of the polls by shouting things like, “Now you’ll have a black president, white devil!!”

Add that up, look at how far we’ve come and how far we still have to go, and take into account the potential this nation has ahead of us, and I feel it’s a battle worth fighting.  If these words could help even one person find reason, then their worth every breath in my body.

Can you spot the racist?

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

2 comments

Leave a Reply

